My Two Year Mission

DSCN2619-e1446162281576-768x1024

DSCN2625-1024x768

DSCN2628-e1446162214284-768x1024

^My gift to Joe was a poem that I wrote one night when I was half asleep… I was surprised that it actually made sense the next day!

^My gift to Joe was a poem that I wrote one night when I was half asleep… I was surprised that it actually made sense the next day!

My husband, Joe and I celebrated two years of marriage on October 12th! We took Levi out for breakfast, went to a movie (mostly for the comfy seats at Cinemark…), and painted at As You Wish since Joe knows I’m into that kind of stuff. 😉

Any time a landmark like this occurs, it’s natural to reflect on all that has taken place since “the greatest day of our lives”. It’s safe to say that we have had many great days since, including:

  • Living in our first apartment together
  • Moving in with my in-laws
  • Joe graduating and beginning his Master’s program
  • Welcoming Levi into our family
  • Learning that both Joe & I may or may not be the most stubborn people ever (lol)
  • Learning that parenthood is most successful when we work as a team & support one another
  • Becoming an official freelance calligraphy artist & starting my own business (Aubrey Kash Designs) – YAY!

Before we got married, or even before were engaged for that matter, I thought that going on a LDS mission was what I wanted to do. I had a dilemma because at the same time, I knew Joe was the perfect guy for me – he actually understood who I was!! – so I didn’t want to risk losing him. I spoke to many people, and one in particular laid it out simply for me. He asked me my main goals in life. My response was that I wanted to start a family of my own, have lots of kids, and become better through it all. He then helped me realize that I need not travel to serve a mission and dedicate my life to God, but that I could do just that by getting married now. After that, it was clear what I wanted to do, and I am so glad that I did because I have learned more from becoming a wife and mother than I could have ever imagined! And it has only been two years so I have so much respect for the wise couples who have been married for so much longer. It hasn’t been all sunshine and roses (we are two different people), but sometimes it takes living with another person to realize your own flaws and to change. I am grateful for Joe and for the lessons he continues to teach me 🙂

Here’s to another great year, love! ♥

*For those of you who are receiving this post via email, please click HERE to subscribe to my latest blog platform which I will be transferring to in the near future! Thanks.

One thought on “My Two Year Mission

Share your thoughts here!

